Georgia, Bosnia and Herzegovina Sign Cooperation Memorandum

Vice-Premier of Georgia and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mikhail Janelidze, and Foreign Minister of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Igor Crnadak, signed a Memorandum of Cooperation between the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of the two countries.

The document was signed on March 5, 2018 during Janelidze’s official visit in Sarajevo.

The memorandum underlines the fundamental principles of international law - sovereignty and territorial integrity, inviolability of borders and non-interference in the internal affairs of the two countries and envisages different formats of relations between their Ministries.

The Foreign Ministers of both countries held a joint press-conference after the signing ceremony, where they spoke about the importance of the memorandum.

The signed Memorandum of Cooperation between Foreign Ministries #Georgia and #BosniaHerzegovina will create new avenues for our cooperation based on international principles, common values, aspirations and mutual respect of sovereignty and territorial integrity

— Mikheil Janelidze (@JanelidzeMkh) March 5, 2018


The Ministers also emphasized both the friendship and partnership between the two countries, and expressed their readiness to promote further development of mutual ties. Mutual support in the process of European and Euro-Atlantic integration of both countries was also emphasized.

Janelidze and Crnadak noted the high potential for the development of sectoral cooperation, especially in areas such as trade, tourism, agriculture and services.

The Ministers welcomed the appropriate decision of both countries, enabling citizens of Georgia and Bosnia and Herzegovina to travel visa-free to both countries.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Georgia informed his colleague about the economic and transit potential of Georgia, and of the possibilities of cooperation between the two countries in this regard.

Within the visit to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Janelidze also held a meeting with the representatives of the Presidential council of the country.

By Thea Morrison

06 March 2018 08:53