Stoltenberg: We Do Not Recognize Abkhazia and South Ossetia as Independent States

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg has commented on recent moving the occupation line further into Georgian territory after Thursday’s meeting of the NATO-Russia Council in Brussels, Belgium.

Stoltenberg expressed concern over the recent developments in the breakaway regions of Georgia - Abkhazia and South Ossetia, adding that NATO does not recognize these territories as independent states and republics.

“As the NATO Secretary General I declare that we are concerned having observed that the so-called border was moved for several times,” Stoltenberg stated, adding that Abkhazia and South Ossetia are integral parts of Georgia.

NATO Secretary General added that alliance supports all attempts of peaceful resolution of the conflict.

“We will continue assisting Georgia to implement modernization process, improve its self-defensive capacity and stabilize the situation as there are foreign troops on its territories.

Thea Morrison

14 July 2017 00:41