European Council Approves Visa-Free Travel for Ukraine

From June 2017, Ukrainians will enjoy visa-free travel with the European Union.

The EU Council of Ministers adopted a regulation on visa liberalization for Ukraine on May 11. After a signing ceremony in the European Parliament and the publication of the regulation in an EU journal, Ukrainians who hold biometric passports will be able to travel to the EU for up to 90 days for business, tourist or family reasons—anything excluding work.

The European Parliament press service said that the signing ceremony will be held in Strasbourg, France, on May 17. Ukraine’s President Petro Poroshenko is expected to take part in the ceremony, along with many other EU officials.

The revised suspension mechanism recently adopted by the EU makes it possible for the EU to suspend Ukraine’s visa liberalization if there are serious migration or security issues with Ukraine.

The President of Ukraine, Petro Poroshenko, said that the decision is a step towards Europe and towards independence. "We are cutting our ties with the post-Soviet past and becoming part of the European space," he said.

Thea Morrison

11 May 2017 18:15