News By Date 01.04.2016 30.03.2016 29.02.2016 11.01.2016 19.12.2015 16.11.2015 01.10.2015 25.09.2015 01.08.2015 01.07.2015 10.06.2015 23.05.2015

Parliamentary Delegations of Nordic, Baltic Countries Arrive in Georgia

TBILISI - The Speakers and Vice-Speakers of the Parliaments of the Baltic and Nordic states are visiting Georgia on March 20-22. They will meet with the Georgian Parliamentary Speaker, other officials of parliament, the president, prime minister, and state minister to discuss EU and NATO integration as well as the head of the Georgian Orthodox Church.

Parliamentary delegations of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania will also meet with European Union Monitoring Mission (EUMM) representatives to visit the villages of Nadarbazevi and Khurvaleti and assess the situation at the administrative boundary line between the breakaway Tskhinvali region and the rest of Georgia.

The Nordic and Baltic countries make up Nordic Baltic Eight (NB8), which facilitates open discussions on international topics and  topics specific to the Nordic-Baltic region. NB8 is a network for political dialogue and practical, flexible, solution-oriented cooperation between partners. The focus is on concrete actions that deliver tangible results.


By Thea Morrison

20 March 2017 13:45