RFERL Reporter Says Georgia’s Visa-Liberalization to Enter into Force in Late March

Rikard Jozwiak, Reporter for Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty (RFERL), says that Georgia’s visa-liberalization with the European Union (EU) will likely enter into force on March 29th.

The reporter released the information in his Twitter post today.

Yesterday, Joswaik said the EU ambassadors would approve the visa liberalization for Georgia and the suspension mechanism on February 22nd.

As for the Ukraine, Jozwaik reports the trialogue on visa liberalization for Ukraine between the European Parliament, Commission, and Council is set to take place on February 28th.

The correspondent says that Ukraine’s visa-liberalization will go into force on June 12, 2017.

The European Parliament (EP) voted in favor of visa-free travel for Georgian citizens to the Schengen Area at the plenary session on February 2nd.

553 MEPs supported Georgia’s visa liberalization during the vote, while 66 were against, and 28 abstained.

The visa-free regime between Georgia and the EU will go into force as soon as the suspension mechanism is activated.

When the process is complete, biometric passport holders will be able to enter the Schengen area, which includes 22 EU member states (excluding Ireland, the United Kingdom, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania and Bulgaria) in addition to Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland for 90 days within any 180-day period for a holiday, business, or any other purpose, except work.

By Thea Morrison

09 February 2017 15:01