Tbilisi Metro Celebrates its Golden Jubilee

Tbilisi Metro is currently celebrating its golden jubilee. It officially opened on January 11th 1966 with only six stations.

They were: Didube, Electrodepo, October, Nadzaladevi, Station Square, Marjanishvili and Rustaveli. The track was six kilometers.

The metro officially started taking passengers at 6am from Didube to Rustaveli. The first experimental carriage was led by Noe Latsabidze on November 28th.

The current Tbilisi Metro has 22 stations and two lines: Gldani-Varketili which has 16 stations and the Saburtalo line.

A new station, “University” will appear in the future, work began on July 28th.

Nina Ioseliani

12 January 2016 18:52