EU to Cut Georgia from List of Safe Countries amid Increasing Coronavirus Cases

The European Union is set to cut Canada, Georgia and Tunisia from a “white list” of countries from which travelers can visit the bloc without COVID-related restrictions such as quarantines or mandatory tests while adding Singapore, Reuters reports

A meeting of ambassadors from the 27 EU nations on Wednesday chose to remove the three countries because of sharp increases in COVID-19 infections there, while the situation in Singapore had improved.

"The proposal will be formalized by the end of the week as long as none of the 27 EU countries object, said two EU diplomats with knowledge of the meeting.

"After the changes, the list will consist of nine countries - Australia, China, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Uruguay," reads the article by Philip Blenkinsop. 

By Ana Dumbadze 

Source: Reuters 

23 October 2020 11:09