EU Council Officially Agrees to Open Borders for 15 Countries, Including Georgia

The European Union Member States have finally approved a list of 15 countries considered safe due to their epidemiological situation related to the new coronavirus, including Georgia, reports

The EU borders will be gradually reopened with the following third countries: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity).

The Council's statement notes that "travel restrictions should be lifted for countries listed in the recommendation, with this list being reviewed and, as the case may be, updated every two weeks".

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Georgia David Zalkaliani responded to the decision of the Council of the European Union.

"We welcome the EU's decision to start lifting travel restrictions for residents of third countries, including Georgia, from 1 July: a decision which indicates the effectiveness of the Georgian government’s COVID-19 control strategy and builds up Georgia's image as one of the world's safest countries," the FM stated. 

By Ana Dumbadze  


Image: AFP

30 June 2020 20:52