EU to Open External Borders for 14 Countries, Including Georgia

The European Union plans to open its external borders for 14 countries, including Georgia, French news outlet Le Monde reports in an article by Jean-Pierre Stroobants.

The ambassadors of the EU member states have agreed on the list of countries whose citizens will be able to enter the EU from July 1. Georgia is among the 14 countries. The final list must be officially approved by a majority vote on Monday.

The list did not include countries such as the United States, Russia, Israel, Turkey, and Saudi Arabia, where the COVID-19 pandemic is in its acute phase.

In addition to Georgia, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Canada, Montenegro, Serbia, Thailand, Uruguay, Rwanda, Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia are also among the 14 countries for which EU borders will be opened from July 1.

"Le Monde" also notes that China could be added to the list, provided that the latter allows entry for EU citizens too. The article reads that several member states requested a delay to the decision for additional checks, meaning that the final outcome may change.

By Ana Dumbadze

Source: Le Monde

29 June 2020 11:08