Georgia: Winners of 2019 EU Prize for Journalism Revealed

On January 22, the European Union in Georgia awarded the winners of the EU Prize for Journalism 2019 in six categories covering print, broadcast, online, and photo journalism. The event took place in Tbilisi, Georgia.

Established in 2012, the European Prize for Journalism is an annual event that encourages professionalism and ethical conduct in Georgian journalism. The EU Prize was launched by Carl Hartzell, Ambassador of the European Union to Georgia, and Kate Fearon, Acting Head of the EU Monitoring Mission (EUMM).

“The EU has been awarding journalism in Georgia since 2012. The aim is to inspire journalists and media towards high quality, ethical work, which is key to a vibrant democracy. We are impressed with the submissions and finalists this year, and I strongly encourage everyone to read and see the winning pieces themselves”, said Hartzell.

Below are the winners of the 2019 EU Prize for Journalism:

Nino Tarkhnishvili – best story in print or online media category

Beso Gvenetadze – best feature story in broadcast or online media category

Giorgi Mgeladze – best investigative story in print, online, or broadcast media category

Jimsher Rekhviashvili – best online or print blog, opinion or column in print, online or broadcast media category

Lasha Tsertsvadze – most innovative and original piece of work in print, broadcast or online media category

Dato Koridze – best documentary photo reflecting EU values

The winners of the first six categories will receive the equivalent of 1,250 Euros each in the national currency. 

The European Union Monitoring Mission (EUMM) presented a special prize for conflict-sensitive journalism contributing to confidence building and peace. The special prize was awarded to Mamuka Kuparadze and his TV piece titled ‘An Interview with Temur Tskurbhat’.

The prize will allow Kuparadze to participate in a one-month fellowship at the Institute of War and Peace Reporting in London. 

24 January 2020 17:39