Switzerland to Add Georgia to List of Safe Countries

From October 1, Switzerland is to add Georgia to the list of safe countries, thus representing the 15th country in the EU/Schengen zone to make such a decision with regards to Georgia, reports the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia.

Adding Georgia to the ‘safe country’ list is recognition of the political stability of the country, its economic development as well as the respect and protection of human rights.

Following the decision, an accelerated procedure will be used in the consideration of asylum applications filed by Georgian citizens. The Swiss Federal Council reports that the number of Georgian citizens seeking asylum in Switzerland has augmented since 2017, relating the issue with the lifting of the visa regime with the countries of the Schengen zone.

Aside from Switzerland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, France, Lichtenstein, Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Iceland, Luxembourg, Ireland, Estonia, Denmark, Slovenia and the Czech Republic have recognized Georgia as a safe country.


By Ketevan Kvaratskheliya

29 August 2019 11:00
נערות ליווי