3 Detained Demonstrators Sentenced to Imprisonment

According to the Tbilisi City Court's decision, three arrested demonstrators charged for group violence against police during the June 20 rally, Soso Bajelidze, Tsotne Tsotniashvili and Levan Jiquri were sentenced to imprisonment.

The relevant judgment was announced today by the judge of Tbilisi City Court Nino Chakhnashvili.

The state prosecution requested imprisonment as a punitive measure against the detainees, while defense demanded their release on bail.

According to the Court's decision, one of the four arrested demonstrators charged for group violence, Valeri Gelashvili, will be released from custody on 8 000 GEL bail.

Gelashvili will be released from custody after paying the bail.

According to the MIA, the detainees were verbally and physically attacking police, while trying to forcefully enter the Parliament building.

It is noteworthy that a total of 12 persons, including opposition MP Nikanor Melia, have been charged with organizing, heading and participating in group violence outside the Parliament building in Tbilisi on June 20-21.

Related Story: One of Detained Demonstrators to be Released on Bail

By Ana Dumbadze 

19 July 2019 17:21