Archil Talakvadze Elected as Chairperson of Parliament

Archil Talakvadze, a leader of the Georgian Dream ruling party majority, has been unanimously elected the new chairperson of Parliament after the resignation of Irakli Kobakhidze on June 21.

Talakvadze was elected to the post through blind voting, with 94 votes with none against.

The Former Chairman Irakli Kobakhidze participated in the election process.

The opposition parties declined to participate in the plenary session earlier today, as the Georgian Dream refused to discuss their resolution text on the resignation of Interior Minister Giorgi Gakharia.

After the election of the new Chairman, the national anthem was performed in the plenary sessions hall.

By Ana Dumbadze

25 June 2019 14:59