European Parliament on Occupation Policies of Russia

The European Parliament (EP) has adopted a resolution regarding the current state of the political collaboration between European Union and Russia, which has been supported by 402 MPs of the EP, while 163 of them voted against and 89 abstained.  The case of Georgia has also been noted in the document.

The resolution criticizes the occupation policies of Russia, applied towards Georgia and Moldova and calls upon the termination of this process, stating that illegal annexation of countries’ territories is “a deliberate violation of international law, democratic principles and fundamental values.”

The European Parliament also condemns the violation of human rights throughout the occupied territories by the Russian representatives, and expresses support towards Georgia.

“European Parliament reaffirms its unequivocal support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia; demands that the Russian Federation cease its occupation of the Georgian territories of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia and fully respect the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia; stresses the need for the Russian Federation to unconditionally fulfil all the provisions of the ceasefire agreement of 12 August 2008, in particular the commitment to withdrawing all its military forces from the territory of Georgia,” the resolution reads.


By Ketevan Kvaratskheliya

Image source: IPN

14 March 2019 15:54