US Resolution Condemns Syria’s Recognition of Georgia's Breakaway Regions

US Congressman Francis Rooney has presented a resolution to the US Congress which condemns the recognition of the independence of occupied regions of Georgia, Abkhazia and South Ossetia (Tskhinvali) by Syria in 2018.

“We condemn the so-called recognition of independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia regions by the client state of the Russian Federation – the Syrian Arab Republic,” reads the document.

The resolution emphasizes the US' firm support for Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity and names Georgia as “one of the US’ most reliable allies in Eurasia”. It also accentuates the role of Georgia in international peacekeeping and security, and the reliability of the country in terms of establishing democracy on the continent of Eurasia.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Georgia David Zalkaliani expressed his gratitude to the US Congressman for the resolution at a meeting held on February 7.

Only Russia, Nicaragua, Nauru, Venezuela and Syria are among those countries, which have recognized the independence of the regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia after the Russian-Georgian war in 2008.

The US State Department has included Syria and Nauru on the list of countries which will not receive financial support from the United States, as a result of the implementation of a legislative act in May 2017 which supports the territorial integrity of Georgia.

The interim government of Venezuela, led by Juan Guaido, has made a statement regarding revising the recognition in case of preserving power.  



By Ketevan Kvaratskheliya

Image source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia

08 February 2019 15:32