US Deputy Assistant Secretary: Abkhazia and S. Ossetia Are Georgia

United States Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for the Caucasus and Eastern Europe, George Kent, condemned the occupation of Georgian territories by Russia and expressed support to Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.

“The United States remains faithfully and deeply committed to Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, and to our strategic partnership with the Government of Georgia,” Kent stated while visiting the occupation line in Georgia on October 13.

He underlined that Russian-occupied regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia are parts of Georgia, adding ten years have passed since Russia occupied these territories.

“We are outraged by the ongoing detentions, mistreatment and deaths of Georgian citizens, and we offer our most profound condolences to their families. We stand beside our friends in Georgia and we renew the call upon the Russian Government to honor the terms of the 2008 ceasefire agreement by ceasing the recognition of these entities as countries and by withdrawing Russian troops to their pre-war positions. We also call upon the Russian Government to allow the safe passage of desperately needed humanitarian aid to the people there,” he stressed.

Kent noted that the aim of his visit was to remind Georgia that the US stands beside it and has not forgotten about the August war 2008.

“The international community does not recognize this boundary line as an international border, and we will never accept any attempt to redraw the borders of Georgia’s territory in violation of its sovereignty. Georgian citizens continue to live and work in the shadow of occupation. These regions are part of Georgia,” he added.

By Thea Morrison

15 October 2018 09:48