2018 RIBA International Prize Shortlist Announced

Every two years, the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) recognizes the most inspirational and significant new buildings across the globe and celebrates international architectural talent. The final award will be announced in late November 2018.

The shortlist for the RIBA International Prize 2018 is:

  • Central European University (Phase 1), Budapest, by O’Donnell + Tuomey

A new university campus in the heart of Budapest that successfully links old buildings and courtyards to create vibrant new spaces.


  • Children Village, Brazil, by Aleph Zero + Rosenbaum

A new boarding school on the edge of the Amazon offering education and accommodation to the children of rural farm workers.


  • Toho Gakuen School of Music, Tokyo, by Nikken Sekkei

A new virtuoso music school designed to visually connect, rather than isolate, practicing musicians.


  • Il Bosco Verticale (Vertical Forest), Milan, by Boeri Studio

The second of two residential towers in Milan in which trees and humans coexist, designed to set a new standard in sustainable housing.


The shortlist will now be finally judged by a distinguished Grand Jury chaired by Elizabeth Diller (Diller Scofidio + Renfro) and including Joshua Bolchover (Rural Urban Framework); Gloria Cabral (Gabinete de Arquitectura); Peter Clegg (Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios) and Kazuyo Sejima (SANAA).

The 2018 RIBA International Prize will be awarded to a building that exemplifies design excellence, architectural ambition and delivers meaningful social impact. The prize is open to any qualified architect in the world, for a building of any size, type or budget.

RIBA is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. RIBA Awards have been running since 1966. RIBA inspires and rewards excellence through a program of regional, national and international Awards including the Royal Gold Medal, RIBA Stirling Prize and RIBA House of the Year. The RIBA International Prize is the first global award for buildings open to all architects in the organization’s history.


By Samantha Guthrie

Photo: RIBA

13 September 2018 17:52