Germany Increases Financial Support To Eastern Partnership States

The Government of Germany will increase financial support for the programmes of the Eastern Partnership states from the current amount of €14 million to €17 million, announced Dirk Wiese, the Coordinator for Inter-social Cooperation with Russia, Central Asia and the Eastern Partnership Countries of the Foreign Ministry of Germany.

 “It is welcomed that the government of Georgia has a very clear vision about Georgia’s future and that the country is striving towards Europe. The Government of Germany supports the way Georgia has chosen. It is exciting that more than 90 % of the Georgian people support the country’s European integration,” Wiese stated on 3 July.

Wiese said that Georgia has a strong civil sector which is actively involved in the state development process. He spoke about the importance of the Georgia-EU visa waiver for the enhancement of people-to-people relations. Wiese also praised Georgia for its steps to remove possible threats for its visa-free travel in the Schengen Zone. He positively evaluated Georgia’s economic policy and the country’s intentions to settle conflicts peacefully.

The Georgian Foreign Minister David Zalkaliani is scheduled to complete his trip in Germany on July 5.

The Eastern Partnership (EaP) is a joint initiative involving the EU, its member states and six Eastern European Partners: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.

The Eastern Partnership aims at building a common area of shared democracy, prosperity, stability and increased cooperation.

By Shawn Wayne

04 July 2018 11:22