APG MP Leaves Parliamentary Investigative Commission

Opposition Alliance of Patriots of Georgia lawmaker, Ada Marshania has quit a special Parliamentary Temporary Investigation Commission, set up in relation to the murder case of two teenagers.

Marshania says her protest was caused by the fact that the majority of the commission are represented by the former ruling party United National Movement (UNM) members, who are now in European Georgia party.

The MP says she will not work with such people, “who have committed various crimes during their government.”

Marshania said she would agree to work in the commission only in case the similar commission was formed, which would study the violations committed during the UNM ruling period. However, her request was not met.

“The issues you request are not in our competence and the answer to your request is no,” Sergi Kapanadze, Chair of the fact-finding commission told Ada Marshania.

After Marshania’s decision to quit, the commission consists of 16 MPs, of which 6 are members of the Georgian Dream Ruling Party: Archil Talakvadze, Mamuka Mdinaradze, Sopio Kiladze, Anri Okhanashvili, Eka Beselia and Dimitry Tskitishvili.

The other members consist of 9 opposition MPs from the party European Georgia: Sergi Kapanadze, Otar Kakhidze, Elene Khosharia, Irakli Abesadze, Sergo Ratiani, Khatuna Gogorishvili, Mamuka Chikovani, Giga Bokeria and Irma Nadirashvili.

One member of the commission is an independent MP, Salome Zurabishvili.

By Thea Morriosn

Related story:

Parliamentary Fact-Finding Commission Formed


14 June 2018 10:14